Technology has Robbed me of my Speeling… or it is spelling ability

For assignment one I decided to use a website (WIX) to state my three reasons for using ICTs in technology. I wrote about 800 words which are on various pages. To my dismay, I soon realised the WIX does not have an automatic spell check. I, who would consider myself not to be a very confident speller decided to paste all my information into a word document in order to check my spelling. Luckily I did, as I had numerous spelling mistakes. This process whilst annoying allowed me to identify words that I commonly spell wrong but was not previously aware of due to most technological devices automatically correcting my mistakes.

This reliance on technology has reduced my ability to spell words and to identify words that I commonly spell wrong. This is an example Postman’s 5 things you need to know at technology change. His first point is technology is always a trade-off, where for every advantage a new technology may give you, this is also a corresponding disadvantage. In this examples, technology minimises my poor spelling ability, reducing my time spent on looking up a dictionary (or use Google) on how to spell works and helping to identify and rectify errors. However, it has also reduced my ability to spell words without the aid of technology as well as my ability to identify and rectify common incorrectly spelt words. Similarly, Schon, in his blog talks about his reduced spelling ability on written tasks.

Leave a comment