It’s how you use it that counts

Technology Tools for Educators logo by jennip98, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License   by  jennip98 

When researching information for assignment one I came across a copy of ACHPER HPE Conference 2014. Whilst there were several key speakers and many important points one speaker really stood out to me. Jarrod Robinson, also know as PE Geek, gave a talk called “Making Technology your Best Friend in the Classroom”. He is a Victorian high school HPE teacher. Jarrod has an awesome website for items about technology integration in HPE, check it out here. Anyway, in his speech he highlighted that there is an array of technological tools that can be used in HPE. Here is a link to a list them.

However, what he stressed  is that just incorporating technology does not make the lesson better. He mentioned an on-going trend of teachers who use many applications, so widely available, but who do not actually think through the purpose of using the selected technology. He believes we need to ask ourselves these questions…

What is the benefit this resource?

How does it make the learning experience better? 

He points out that it is not the technology that you are using that will enhance the learning, it is HOW you use the technology that makes a difference. This echoes similar sediments that we have heard in the course. I know myself since starting this course I have been so excited about the many apps out there for HPE,  I thought sweet I can  use these in my classes, its technology its got to be good… right. WRONG! Similarly, Deanna, in her blog post talks about how you can get caught up with the bells and whistles of technology, that you can loss focus of what you want to achieve in the lesson. In future, before incorporating technology into my lesson I really need to consider: how does this ICT strategy help to enhance learning and assist in reaching my lesson objects. Only then, after assessing these factors will I consider using them in my lesson plans.

Leave a comment