Broadening My Horizons

So my first week of university is down. How did my attempted to utilise ICTs for my study work? Well…this picture is a visual representation of my feelings after day one.

ICT frustration

I started off the week by installing an application called AnnotDoc, so I could digitally make notes to my lecture slides. I found this very frustrating. I did not know how to write notes on each individual slide, I could not make the textbox bigger, etc. By Wednesday I have reverted to my faithful pen and paper method. However, on Friday when writing on my printed out lecture slides I was thinking, I am making this harder than it has to be. This week while challenging and overwhelming has opened my eyes to some of the benefits of ICTs ,such as having all documents stored in one place which is accessible on multiple devices or being able to keyword search to find relevant documents (tell that to my four boxes of old lecture notes and handouts I find myself shifting through to find that useful bit of information I read once in what course and what week). Ultimately I realised utilising ICTs could save time. I repeat SAVE ME TIME! Whilst initially ICTs will require you to invest a lot of time, I can see how it will enhance my learning and teaching.

 

Leave a comment